The International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) energy standard specifies the minimum energy-related requirements for a building or major renovation in a jurisdiction that has adopted this standard. The standard in its entirety can be obtained at the ICC.  

The latest version of the IECC is 2012 but any one jurisdiction may instead adopt:
     an older version of the IECC,
     any published version of ASHRAE 90.1
     or nothing at all in home rule states. 

Yes, the DOE has ruled that all states must have an energy code at least as stringent as 90.1-2010 but, so far, has not shown an inclination/ability to enforce that.

And anytime a jurisdiction adopts a standard as their energy code, they frequently make modifications to that standard.  This site does NOT cover any such modifications.

Click here to find out what energy code is in place in your jurisdiction.
DOE Determinations 

Certification statements by the States must be provided by May 17, 2014 including showing that they have an residential energy code as least as stringent as IECC-2012.  See the Federal Register announcement for details.

Narrated Presentation

IECC - 2009 An Energy Code

IECC - 2012 An Energy Code

Document Training Materials


Scope & Applicability

90.1-2010 as an Alternate Compliance Path

Lighting Scope

Documentation of Compliance

Lighting Related Provisions
     Mandatory (Interior)
               Lighting Controls
               Tandem Wiring
               Exit Signs
     Exterior Lighting
               Lighting Controls
               Source Efficacy
               Exterior Lighting Power
     Prescriptive Interior Lighting Power
               Building Area Method
               Space-by-Space Method

Get Involved in the IECC Process